The city of Euharlee, just west of Cartersville, is home to the oldest covered bridge in Georgia as well as a picturesque 1850s village. Its signature bridge, on the National Register of Historic Sites, is open daily.
Civil War presence is evidenced by the remains of Milam's Bridge. The original bridge was burned May 21, 1864, by Jackson's Cavalry. Upon being rebuilt after the war, it remained in service until the 1970s. Plans are under way to restore this steel truss bridge as a bike and pedestrian path.
Other sites to explore include The Travelers Well, Blacksmith Shop, Black Pioneers Cemetery, Euharlee History Museum, Grist Mill Ruins adjacent to the covered bridge, and the Commissary/Granary. Also see the Calaboose, where drunks and chicken theives were housed back in the day, and Obsorne Park along Euharlee Creek.
The name Euharlee is derived from a well-known Indian name "Eufaula" and means "she laughs as she runs." The area has been continuously occupied since 800 B.C. and contains archeological traces of earlier civilizations.
Euharlee was settled in the 1840s and was first known as Burge's Mill. In 1852, it became incorporated as Euharleeville. In 1870, a new charter was enacted, changing the name to Euharlee.
Visitor Information Center
30 Burge's Mill Road
Euharlee, GA 30145
Official Visitor Information
Free Georgia Travel Guide
The state’s official Travel Guide is your complete resource to planning a vacation in Georgia. Find trip ideas, attractions, events, activities, accommodations, maps, travel resources and much more.
Phone: 1-800-VISIT GA (847-4842)