Georgetown Plantation Trace

Georgetown/Quitman County is a consolidated government. It shares the Lake Walter F. George Wildlife Management area with a neighboring county to the South.
  • Quitman County Courthouse

Georgetown-Quitman County is a consolidated government. Quitman County was created from parts of Randolph and Stewart counties in 1858. The county was named for General John A. Quitman, a leader in the Mexican War, once Governor of Mississippi, and an avid spokesman for states rights. The county's only incorporated municipality is Georgetown, the county seat. It was named for the area in Washington, D.C. It was originally called Tobanana after a nearby creek.

Visitor Information Center

25 Old School Road
Georgetown, GA 39854

Visit Website

Phone: 229-334-0903

Georgetown Trip Ideas & Inspiration