Maysville was just a small village in 1847, and was known as "Midway," as it was midway between Lula and Harmony Grove (Commerce.) In 1869 a brick store was built, and the town's residents began to refer to it as "Brick Store." The name was later changed to Maysville, probably after John Mays, a prominent citizen who came to town with the railroad. Maysville was incorporated September 30, 1879. .
Regular passenger train service was in place twice daily between Lula and Athens. Traveling salesmen arriving on the train would hire buggies to reach Holly Springs, Dry Pond, and Homer. Maysville thrived in the early 1900's. Agriculture was the primary activity. There were 4 cotton gins, thus a large cotton market, and each fall at least 18,000 bales were loaded on the trains for shipment.
Maysville offers visitors a look at historic homes, a quaint downtown and the beautiful Hurricane Shoals Park. The most famous citizen of Maysville was the celebrated folk artist, Mattie Lou O'Kelly,
Visitor Information Center
4 Homer Street
Maysville, GA 30558
Free Georgia Travel Guide
The state's official Travel Guide is your complete resource to planning a vacation in Georgia. Find trip ideas, attractions, dining, events, activities, accommodations, map, travel resources and much more.
Phone: 1-800-VISIT GA (847-4842)