Early Georgia planter and legislator Thomas Spalding, a man of Scottish heritage, kept his mainland home on the site known as Ashantilly, or "Old Tabby." The original tabby house burned in 1937, but the current home, actually built around the tabby ruins, is the vision of William G. Haynes, Jr. who founded the Ashantilly Press. He was also the founder of the non-profit Ashantilly Center, which operates today as an educational and cultural center just outside Darien. Spalding's and Haynes' legacies are interpreted to visitors through programs, events and publications.
We are open by appointment only.
Free Parking, Gift Shop, Guided Tours / Guide Available
Near Interstate Highway
American Express, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
Suitable for Ages