Northeast Georgia Mountains / Clayton

Walking Tour of Downtown Clayton

81 N. Church St.
Clayton, GA 30525


Visitors can walk to thirty-seven buildings on a self-guided tour of downtown Clayton.

Rabun County was created in 1819 when the State of Georgia dictated a treaty with the Cherokee Nation, which removed the Native Americans. The county was named for a recently deceased governor, William Rabun. The land, which had been home to the Cherokees for thousands of years before the arrival of Europeans, was given to white settlers in a land lottery.

Clayton was made the county seat in 1823, but the town was not incorporated until 1909. Clayton's location on the ridgeline at the intersection of several creeks had been known by the Cherokee as the equivalent of the English word, "Dividings." It was the location of the convergence of several important Cherokee trails connecting villages to the north, east and west.

Maps are available at the Rabun County Historical Society Museum as well as other locations in downtown Clayton.

Info & Amenities

  • Hours of Operation

    Sunday: All Day
    Monday: All Day
    Tuesday: All Day
    Wednesday: All Day
    Thursday: All Day
    Friday: All Day
    Saturday: All Day

    Admission & Fees

    Admission Free

    Facility Amenities

    Free Parking

    Maps & Brochures Available

    Parking on Site

    Public Restrooms

    Self-guided Tours

    General Information


    Free Admission

    Handicapped Accessible

    Open Year 'Round

    Group Amenities


    Suitable for Ages

    All Ages