Historic Heartland / Flovilla

Indian Spring Hotel/Museum

1807 Hwy 42
Flovilla, GA 30216

  • 1 of 3
  • Elizabeth Harris Garden

    2 of 3
  • 3 of 3

The Indian Spring Hotel was built in 1823 as an Inn by Chief William McIntosh and his cousin, Joel Bailey, who also operated it. In 1825, a two-story addition was built. The addition included the Tavern known as the Treaty Room and a large ballroom above it. The hotel is unique and extremely significant to the history of the State of Georgia. It is the only known ante-bellum mineral springs hotel in Georgia still standing. Its history yields much data on the culture, society, and architecture of Georgia throughout the 19th century. The Federal style architecture, hand-planed wide boards, wooden pegs, and handmade bricks clearly indicate an early 19th century construction date. The foundation was made of native stone. The alcove in the wall, where the treaty was signed remains intact. Indians had been coming to the Spring for many decades prior to 1800. They believed in the medical qualities of the water. No permanent structures were built near the waters due to the fear that crying children and talking women would scare the "healing spirits" away from the waters. However, William McIntosh built a cabin here in 1800. William McIntosh signed the Treaty of 1825 at the hotel that ceded 4,700,000 acres of land occupied by the Creek Indian to the State of Georgia. The Indians, in return, received an equal amount of land west of the Mississippi River and also, the sum of $400,000. Unfortunately, McIntosh was opposed by some Upper Creek Indian villages and the Cherokee at New Echota and was killed on May 1, 1825.

Open to the public seasonally, April - October.

Info & Amenities

  • Hours of Operation

    Sunday: 1:00PM - 4:00AM
    Saturday: 1:00PM - 4:00PM

    Admission & Fees

    Adults $3.00

    Facility Amenities

    Maps & Brochures Available, Self-guided Tours

    General Information


    Group Amenities


    Suitable for Ages

    All Ages