The Blunt House is one of oldest two story homes built in Dalton. It was the home of Ainsworth Emery Blunt, the first mayor and Postmaster of Dalton. Mr. Blunt was originally from New Hampshire. After moving South, he taught carpentry, blacksmithing, coopering, and religion to the Cherokee Indians. He soon married Harriet Ellsworth, and later Elizabeth Christian Ramsey of Tennessee.
In 1838 Blunt gave communion to the Cherokees as they began their "Trail of Tears" to Oklahoma. He was also one of the founders of the First Presbyterian Church in Dalton and was a very influential and prominent man among the Southern society of Dalton.
The Federal style house was completed in 1848. In 1864, the Blunt family moved to Illinois; and the house was used as a hospital by the Union Army. At one time it was also occupied by the Confederate Army, led by General Joseph E. Johnston.
Except for this brief period during the War, the Blunt family occupied the house from its construction until the 1978 death of Mr. Blunt's granddaughter, Emery Kirby Baxley. The interior of the home is described as "feminine" because only three men ever lived in the home --A. E. Blunt, Thomas Kirby, and John Baxley. Each room has original furnishings used by the family. The oldest piece is the blue buttermilk chest brought from New Hampshire to Brainerd Mission in 1822. The home was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. Visitors can view vintage clothing and accessories, first edition books, antique toys and tools, family linens, antique kitchenware and many more items on display.
Hours of Operation
Thursday: 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Admission & Fees
Adults and children $5.00
Civil War Site