On the first Saturday of each month, explore the history of Conyers and Rockdale County for free at the Old Jail Museum from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. The Old Jail was constructed in 1897 and was used by Rockdale County until 1969. All exterior walls are three bricks thick, and all interior walls are two bricks thick. The floor and ceiling of the second floor area are constructed of steel with six inches of concrete above it. The main floor consisted of the sheriff's office and living quarters for his family. Five Rockdale County Sheriffs' families lived in the building between 1897 and 1969.
The Rockdale County Historical Society acquired the property in 1975 to serve as the home to the society and as a house museum. Tours are sponsored by the Rockdale County Historical Society. For more information, contact the Conyers Welcome Center (770) 602-2606 or www.visit.conyersga.com.
Hours of Operation
Saturday: 10:00AM - 2:00PM
Admission & Fees
Free Parking, Parking on Site, Public Restrooms
Family-friendly, Free Admission
Suitable for Ages
Entertainment, Family Friendly, Free Things to Do, History & Heritage