Exhibition: Decade of Tradition: Highlights from the Larry D. and Brenda A. Thompson Collection

Event Date

Saturday, April 13, 2024
All Day

Schedule

Dates & times for April 2024
Friday, April 12, 2024 All Day
Saturday, April 13, 2024 All Day
Sunday, April 14, 2024 All Day
Monday, April 15, 2024 All Day
Tuesday, April 16, 2024 All Day
Wednesday, April 17, 2024 All Day
Thursday, April 18, 2024 All Day
Friday, April 19, 2024 All Day
Saturday, April 20, 2024 All Day
Sunday, April 21, 2024 All Day
Monday, April 22, 2024 All Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2024 All Day
Wednesday, April 24, 2024 All Day
Thursday, April 25, 2024 All Day
Friday, April 26, 2024 All Day
Saturday, April 27, 2024 All Day
Sunday, April 28, 2024 All Day
Monday, April 29, 2024 All Day
Tuesday, April 30, 2024 All Day

Venue

Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens GA 30602

Social

In 2012, Larry and Brenda Thompson gave 100 works of art by African American artists to the Georgia Museum of Art, mirroring the original donation of 100 American paintings by museum founder Alfred Heber Holbrook. In addition, they endowed a curatorial position to steward this collection to help fulfill the museum’s vision of an inclusive canon of American art. This exhibition includes works from the 2011 traveling exhibition “Tradition Redefined,” which preceded the gift, as well as subsequent works added in recent years that have not been on view in other galleries. These works celebrate the expansion of the museum’s permanent collection through this transformative gift of works by African American artists.
Scroll To Top