Exhibition: Drama and Devotion in Baroque Rome

Event Date

Tuesday, December 17, 2019
All Day

Schedule

Dates & times for December 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019 All Day
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 All Day
Wednesday, December 18, 2019 All Day
Thursday, December 19, 2019 All Day
Friday, December 20, 2019 All Day
Saturday, December 21, 2019 All Day
Sunday, December 22, 2019 All Day
Monday, December 23, 2019 All Day
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 All Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 All Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 All Day
Friday, December 27, 2019 All Day
Saturday, December 28, 2019 All Day
Sunday, December 29, 2019 All Day
Monday, December 30, 2019 All Day
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 All Day

Venue

Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens GA 30602

Social

Related Categories:
Rome has long been a key destination for artists. At the beginning of the 17th century, painters from across Europe flocked to the Eternal City to see the revolution caused by painter Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (1571 – 1610). Everyone copied his stark contrast of light and dark, powerful realism and dramatic sense of staging. The works presented in this exhibition, all from the Museum and Gallery at Bob Jones University, celebrate how Caravaggio shaped the Italian Baroque and galvanized numerous followers. One of the main highlights is a Crucifixion by Peter Paul Rubens, who spent more than eight years in Italy.
Amenities
Facility Amenities
  • Parking off Site
  • Parking on Site
  • Concessions
  • Public Restrooms
  • Accessible by Public Transportation
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • Visa
Special Tags
  • Eco-Friendly
  • LGBT
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Free Admission
  • Accessible