Exhibition: Drama and Devotion in Baroque Rome

Event Date

Monday, July 6, 2020
All Day

Schedule

Dates & times for July 2020
Sunday, July 5, 2020 All Day
Monday, July 6, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, July 8, 2020 All Day
Thursday, July 9, 2020 All Day
Friday, July 10, 2020 All Day
Saturday, July 11, 2020 All Day
Sunday, July 12, 2020 All Day
Monday, July 13, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, July 14, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 All Day
Thursday, July 16, 2020 All Day
Friday, July 17, 2020 All Day
Saturday, July 18, 2020 All Day
Sunday, July 19, 2020 All Day
Monday, July 20, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, July 22, 2020 All Day
Thursday, July 23, 2020 All Day
Friday, July 24, 2020 All Day
Saturday, July 25, 2020 All Day
Sunday, July 26, 2020 All Day
Monday, July 27, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, July 28, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 All Day
Thursday, July 30, 2020 All Day
Friday, July 31, 2020 All Day

Venue

Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens GA 30602

Social

Related Categories:
Rome has long been a key destination for artists. At the beginning of the 17th century, painters from across Europe flocked to the Eternal City to see the revolution caused by painter Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (1571 – 1610). Everyone copied his stark contrast of light and dark, powerful realism and dramatic sense of staging. The works presented in this exhibition, all from the Museum and Gallery at Bob Jones University, celebrate how Caravaggio shaped the Italian Baroque and galvanized numerous followers. One of the main highlights is a Crucifixion by Peter Paul Rubens, who spent more than eight years in Italy.
Amenities
Facility Amenities
  • Parking off Site
  • Parking on Site
  • Concessions
  • Public Restrooms
  • Accessible by Public Transportation
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • Visa
Special Tags
  • Eco-Friendly
  • LGBT
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Free Admission
  • Accessible