Exhibition- Kota Ezawa: The Crime of Art

Event Date

Monday, July 13, 2020
All Day

Schedule

Dates & times for July 2020
Sunday, July 12, 2020 All Day
Monday, July 13, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, July 14, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 All Day
Thursday, July 16, 2020 All Day
Friday, July 17, 2020 All Day
Saturday, July 18, 2020 All Day
Sunday, July 19, 2020 All Day
Monday, July 20, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, July 22, 2020 All Day
Thursday, July 23, 2020 All Day
Friday, July 24, 2020 All Day
Saturday, July 25, 2020 All Day
Sunday, July 26, 2020 All Day
Monday, July 27, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, July 28, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 All Day
Thursday, July 30, 2020 All Day
Friday, July 31, 2020 All Day

Venue

Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens GA 30602

Social

Related Categories:
This exhibition will bring together new and recent works related to Ezawa’s “The Crime of Art” series, a group of light-boxes and video animations that chronicle some of the most infamous and high profile museum heists in history. At the heart of this exhibition is a series of images that pays homage to the 13 works — including those by Degas, Manet, Rembrandt and Vermeer — stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in 1990. Ezawa draws from the histories of media, popular culture and art history to create distilled renderings of iconic images. His simplified versions of indelible images remain easily recognizable and potent, the result of a process that illuminates the hold certain images have on their viewers. Working in a range of mediums such as digital animation, slide projections, light boxes, paper cut-outs, collage, print and wood sculptures, Ezawa maintains a keen awareness of how images shape our experience and memory of events. “Kota Ezawa: The Crime of Art” was organized by SITE Santa Fe with the Mead Art Museum.
Amenities
Facility Amenities
  • Parking off Site
  • Parking on Site
  • Concessions
  • Public Restrooms
  • Accessible by Public Transportation
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • Visa
Special Tags
  • Eco-Friendly
  • LGBT
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Free Admission
  • Accessible