Exhibition: Richard Prince: Tell Me Everything

Event Date

Sunday, April 14, 2024
All Day

Schedule

Dates & times for April 2024
Saturday, April 13, 2024 All Day
Sunday, April 14, 2024 All Day
Monday, April 15, 2024 All Day
Tuesday, April 16, 2024 All Day
Wednesday, April 17, 2024 All Day
Thursday, April 18, 2024 All Day
Friday, April 19, 2024 All Day
Saturday, April 20, 2024 All Day
Sunday, April 21, 2024 All Day
Monday, April 22, 2024 All Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2024 All Day
Wednesday, April 24, 2024 All Day
Thursday, April 25, 2024 All Day
Friday, April 26, 2024 All Day
Saturday, April 27, 2024 All Day
Sunday, April 28, 2024 All Day
Monday, April 29, 2024 All Day
Tuesday, April 30, 2024 All Day

Venue

Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens GA 30602

Social

“Tell Me Everything” features artist Richard Prince’s most recent suite of works based on the joke archives of influential 20th-century American comedian Milton Berle (1913 - 2000). Berle, whose career lasted more than eight decades, often documented jokes on index cards, which he organized by subject in file drawers. Prince, an avid book and rare manuscript collector, bought four cabinets of thousands of Berle’s jokes at a Los Angeles auction. Although viewers are not privy to individual jokes, the enlarged inkjet images developed from this archive reference the centrality and lasting significance of jokes in communicating ideas about everyday life, taboo subjects and broader cultural norms.

During the 1980s, Prince began reappropriating old jokes in his work, utilizing handwritten jokes and later creating large monochromatic canvases with silkscreens of individual jokes on the surface. The title of the exhibition was inspired by the first joke he came across in a secondhand bookshop: “I went to see a psychiatrist. He said, ‘Tell me everything.’ I did, and now he's doing my act.”



    Scroll To Top