Exhibition: Storytelling in Renaissance Maiolica

Event Date

Sunday, December 15, 2019
All Day

Schedule

Dates & times for December 2019
Saturday, December 14, 2019 All Day
Sunday, December 15, 2019 All Day
Monday, December 16, 2019 All Day
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 All Day
Wednesday, December 18, 2019 All Day
Thursday, December 19, 2019 All Day
Friday, December 20, 2019 All Day
Saturday, December 21, 2019 All Day
Sunday, December 22, 2019 All Day
Monday, December 23, 2019 All Day
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 All Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 All Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 All Day
Friday, December 27, 2019 All Day
Saturday, December 28, 2019 All Day
Sunday, December 29, 2019 All Day
Monday, December 30, 2019 All Day
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 All Day

Venue

Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens GA 30602

Social

Related Categories:
This focused exhibition brings together a small selection of tin-glazed earthenware produced in the duchy of Urbino, Italy, in the 16th century. Colorfully decorated with ornamental motifs and narrative scenes from the Bible, classical mythology and ancient history, these ceramic vessels demonstrate the extension of the Renaissance revival of Greek and Roman antiquity into private and public life. In celebration of the Georgia Museum of Art’s acquisition of two objects from this period, “Storytelling in Renaissance Maiolica” investigates the visual links between these objects and the art of classical antiquity along with a range of decorative motifs and subjects.
Amenities
Facility Amenities
  • Parking off Site
  • Parking on Site
  • Concessions
  • Public Restrooms
  • Accessible by Public Transportation
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • Visa
Special Tags
  • Eco-Friendly
  • LGBT
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Free Admission
  • Accessible