Exhibition: The Art of Seating: 200 Years of American Design

Event Date

Saturday, October 17, 2020
All Day

Schedule

Dates & times for October 2020
Saturday, October 17, 2020 All Day
Sunday, October 18, 2020 All Day
Monday, October 19, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, October 21, 2020 All Day
Thursday, October 22, 2020 All Day
Friday, October 23, 2020 All Day
Saturday, October 24, 2020 All Day
Sunday, October 25, 2020 All Day
Monday, October 26, 2020 All Day
Tuesday, October 27, 2020 All Day
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 All Day
Thursday, October 29, 2020 All Day
Friday, October 30, 2020 All Day
Saturday, October 31, 2020 All Day

Venue

Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens GA 30602

Social

Related Categories:

This exhibition, organized by the Museum of Contemporary Art, Jacksonville and the Thomas H. and Diane DeMell Jacobsen Ph.D. Foundation, presents a survey of exceptional American chair design from the early 19th century to the present day. The chair is experienced not only as a functional item, but as sculptural in view — the chair as art. Each of the approximately 40 chairs in the exhibition are chosen for their beauty and historical context with important social, economic, political and cultural influences. Selections from the Thomas H. and Diane DeMell Jacobsen Ph.D. Foundation are joined by contemporary designs offering a stylistic journey in furniture with show-stoppers by John Henry Belter, George Hunzinger, Herter Brothers, Stickley Brothers, Frank Lloyd Wright, Charles and Ray Eames, Isamu Noguchi and Frank Gehry among others.

Amenities
Facility Amenities
  • Parking off Site
  • Parking on Site
  • Concessions
  • Public Restrooms
  • Accessible by Public Transportation
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • Visa
Special Tags
  • Eco-Friendly
  • LGBT
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Free Admission
  • Accessible