Fine Lines: American Works on Paper

Event Date

Tuesday, December 10, 2019
10:00am - 5:00pm

Schedule

Dates & times for December 2019
Sunday, December 8, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, December 12, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, December 13, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, December 14, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, December 15, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wednesday, December 18, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, December 19, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, December 20, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, December 21, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, December 22, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, December 26, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, December 27, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, December 28, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, December 29, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm

Venue

High Museum of Art
1280 Peachtree St. NE
Atlanta GA 30309
Related Categories:

Drawing in the nineteenth century was a popular medium for its convenience, requiring little beyond a sheet of paper and something with which to draw. Before painting, one learned to draw as an exercise, but it also came in handy for rendering quick impressions in the days before snapshot photography. In this way, nineteenth-century American artists rendered nearly all facets of daily life, whether recordings of their travels, commissioned illustrations, portraits of loved ones, or studies of a passerby on the street.

Fine Lines celebrates a recent gift to the High of 50 late nineteenth-century drawings from Atlanta collector Paul Stein that will be on view at the Museum for the first time. In addition, the exhibition features a suite of watercolors on loan from Stein. Together, these works highlight the diversity of makers (women and men, famous and obscure) and the range of uses (from the casual to the formal) associated with works on paper in nineteenth-century America.

Amenities
Facility Amenities
  • Parking off Site
  • Parking on Site
  • Public Restrooms
  • Accessible by Public Transportation
Near Interstate Highway
  • 75
  • 85
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Accessible