Sally Mann: A Thousand Crossings

Event Date

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
10:00am - 5:00pm

Schedule

Dates & times for November 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, November 14, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, November 15, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, November 16, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, November 17, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, November 21, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, November 22, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, November 23, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, November 24, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, November 28, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, November 29, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, November 30, 2019 10:00am - 5:00pm

Venue

High Museum of Art
1280 Peachtree St. NE
Atlanta GA 30309
Related Categories:

For more than 40 years, Sally Mann (American, born 1951) has made experimental, elegiac and hauntingly beautiful photographs that explore the overarching themes of existence: memory, desire, death, the bonds of family, and nature’s indifference to human endeavor. A native of Virginia, Mann has long written about what it means to live in the South and be identified as a Southerner. This major exhibition features more than 100 figure studies, landscapes and architectural views that are united by their common origin and inspiration in the American South. Using her deep love of her homeland and her knowledge of its historically fraught heritage, Mann asks powerful, provocative questions—about history, identity, race and religion—that reverberate across geographic and national boundaries. Organized into five sections—focused on family, landscape, battlefields, legacy and mortality—and featuring many new works, the exhibition is both a sweeping overview of Mann’s artistic achievement over the past four decades and a focused exploration of how the South emerges in her work as a powerful and provocative force that continues to shape American identity and experience. This exhibition is organized by the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., and the Peabody Essex Museum, Salem, Massachusetts. 

Hours:
Monday - Closed
Tuesday - 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday - 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday - 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Friday - 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday - 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday - 12 noon to 5 p.m.


Amenities
Discounts
  • AARP
  • Military Discount
Facility Amenities
  • Parking on Site
  • Public Restrooms
Near Interstate Highway
  • 75
  • 85
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Accessible