What Is Left Unspoken, Love

Event Date

Wednesday, May 18, 2022
10:00am - 5:00pm

Schedule

Dates & times for May 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, May 19, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, May 20, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, May 21, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, May 22, 2022 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday, May 26, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Friday, May 27, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday, May 28, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, May 29, 2022 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Tuesday, May 31, 2022 10:00am - 5:00pm

Venue

High Museum of Art
1280 Peachtree St NE
1280 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta GA 30309

Rates

  • General Admission: $16.50
Related Categories:

Is love intrinsic, or is it a habit? What is the difference between love and friendship? What is the relationship of love to truth, freedom, and justice? These are just some of the questions to be explored in What Is Left Unspoken, Love, featuring contemporary artworks from 1987 to 2021 that address the different ways the most important thing in life—love—is expressed.

Organized during a time of social and political discord, when cynicism often seems to triumph over hope, this exhibition will examine love as a profound subject of critical commentary from time immemorial yet with a persistently elusive definition. As poet and painter Etel Adnan wrote, love is “not to be described, it is to be lived.”

Love will feature more than seventy works, including paintings, sculpture, photography, video, and media art, by more than thirty-five international artists based in North America, Europe, and Asia such as Rina Banerjee, Patty Chang, Jeffrey Gibson, Tomashi Jackson, María de los Angeles Rodríguez Jiménez, Rashid Johnson, Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, Kerry James Marshall, Wangechi Mutu, Ebony G. Patterson, Magnus Plessen, Gabriel Rico, RongRong and inri, and Carrie Mae Weems.

Amenities
Discounts
  • AARP
  • Military Discount
Facility Amenities
  • Parking on Site
  • Public Restrooms
Near Interstate Highway
  • 75
  • 85
Payment Options
  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • Visa
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Accessible