Old Jail Art Center and Museum
The Old Jail Art Center building was constructed in 1888 by the McDonald Brothers Jail Building Company of Louisville, Kentucky as the McIntosh County Jail. Today, the Old Jail remains one of the three oldest public buildings in Darien, along with the courthouse and the old firehouse. The building was utilized as the county jail until 2002 when it was relocated to a new facility.
Just a few years after the Old Jail was vacated, this 19th century building was to take on a new and very different life. The McIntosh Art Association partnered with the City and County in 2006 to completely renovate the building with donations, grant funds, and more than 2,600 hours of volunteer labor. The Art Association had its grand opening at the Old Jail in 2007 and is a cultural center for the Community. At the Old Jail Art Center and Museum, visitors and members are offered a chance to exhibit and view local art, take art classes, explore the local history museum located in the old jail cells, and attend a variety of events.
The McIntosh Art Association was converted into six working Art Galleries along with gift shop, classrooms, outdoor garden and the McIntosh County History Museum. Artists exhibit in many variety of medium with exhibits changing quarterly. There is quite a large group of artists in the area and the Art Center offers a great opportunity for visitors to view, browse or purchase local works. The Old Jail Art Center also serves as the Darien Welcome Center, providing visitors with information and recommendations on accomodations, restaurants, and points of interest.
|Suitable for Ages||