Indian Spring Hotel/Museum
The Indian Spring Hotel was built in 1823 as an Inn by Chief William McIntosh and his cousin, Joel Bailey, who also operated it. In 1825, a two-story addition was built. The addition included the Tavern known as the Treaty Room and a large ballroom above it. The hotel is unique and extremely significant to the history of the State of Georgia. It is the only known antebellum mineral springs hotel in Georgia still standing. Its history yields much data on the culture, society, and architecture of Georgia throughout the 19th century. The Federal style architecture, hand-planed wide boards, wooden pegs, and handmade bricks clearly indicate an early 19th century construction date.
Open to the public seasonally, April - October.
|Suitable for Ages||