Exhibit - “The lost village, Troup Factory, the people and history” presented by the Chipley Historical Center

Event Date

Thursday, February 2, 2023
10:00am - 4:00pm

Schedule

Dates & times for February 2023
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday, February 2, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday, February 3, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday, February 4, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday, February 6, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday, February 9, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday, February 10, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday, February 11, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday, February 13, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday, February 15, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday, February 16, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday, February 17, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday, February 18, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday, February 20, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday, February 23, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday, February 24, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday, February 25, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday, February 27, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 10:00am - 4:00pm

Venue

Chipley Historical Center
146 N McDougald Ave
Pine Mountain GA 31882

Rates

  • Admission is Free: $0.00

Social

Presented by the Chipley Historical Center (CHC), this exhibit will reveal details about a tributary that most people cross over as they travel into Pine Mountain but have no clue how relevant it was in the mid-1800s. Just north of Pine Mountain, U. S. Hwy. 27 crosses Flat Shoals Creek. At one time, there was a factory there that was rated at its peak by the Mercantile Agency of New York in September of 1859. In the Brooks of Honey and Butter book, Troup Factory was profitable until the very end of the 19th century, when it was affected by financial panic and other issues. This exhibit will explore this story virtually unknown to those who are alive today and have traveled by this very spot.

The exhibition opens on Saturday, September 24, 2022, in conjunction with Pine Mountain's Ole Chipley Town Fair.

For more about the CHC, visit https://chipleyhistoriccenter.org/, call (706) 663-4044, or email info@chipleyhistoriccenter.org. The Center is located at 146 McDougald Ave, Pine Mountain, GA 31822.

About the Chipley Historical Center
The Chipley Historical Center of Pine Mountain was established in 1985, so that the historical documents, photographs, and heritage of the area might be collected and preserved. The goal is to create the finest genealogy/history center in West Central Georgia. Located in the original City Hall, the Center was constructed in the early 1900s on McDougald Avenue. The structure has been saved from deterioration over time, including its two jail cells. What visitors see today has been completely renovated and has been placed on the National Register of Historical Places. Items of historical value, such as old letters, photographs, land grants, deeds, diaries, newspapers, etc. should be preserved. If you have any such items or know someone who does please call the Center; or stop in, so that we may discuss the permanent preservation of such items. This will contribute to the preservation of the rich heritage of this area for future generations. The restoration of the old City Hall was accomplished by the generous support of many people and organizations in this community, for which we are most grateful. Continued support of this project is achieved from direct donations, membership dues and volunteer assistance. The center is open Monday through Saturday from 10:00 a.m. ET to 4:00 p.m. (check with the Center for holiday hours of operation).

Amenities
Facility Amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Parking on Site
Near Interstate Highway
  • 185
Suitable for Ages
  • All Ages
Group Amenities
  • Group-Friendly
General Information
  • Family-Friendly
  • Free Admission
Parking Amenities
  • Parking Lot Parking
Scroll To Top